Creating Magic

May your day be sprinkled with pixie dust

One Heart Beats, A Poem June 1, 2011

Filed under: Cosmic Odyssey,Faerie Dust & Whimsy,Poems — Faerie Magic @ 10:36 pm

One Heart Beats

by

Shannon Sullivan

Locked inside his heart

a sheet of dark

ice like glass resided.

He looked into it

and knew

the feeling of being

jaded.

A memory from

"The Birth of Adam" by Judithe Hernandez (www.judithehernandez.com)

teenage angst

and bitter resentment

stayed in his heart

– until today.

He shone a light

the rays of warm Sun

onto this dark piece of

ice.

Slowly the ice began to melt,

a stream of Love

began to flow from

his heart to his body.

His heart mending

one beat at a time

and the teenager

laughed at

the paradox of Life.

Now he understands more

after the age of 50

than he did then.

He holds his

hand to his heart

and with the water

melting from the ice

that no longer lives

there, a Sunflower

now blooms.

*  I dedicate this poem to one of my friends whom I love dearly.  Thank you for allowing me to be a part of your life …..  so DEAR READERS …. if magic can melt the ice in this man’s heart, what can the magic of creation help you with?

********************************************************************************************************************

Photo by: Shannon Sullivan

(Poem by:  Shannon Sullivan

Art piece by:  Judithe Hernandez,  “The Birth of Adam”  To view more of Judithe’s art please visit her website at:   http://www.judithehernandez.com .  I am grateful for her allowing me to post her artwork with my poem.

Inspiration by:  Magical Universe and the SDFDC, Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan

Thank you to :  Our Readers)

 

4 Responses to “One Heart Beats, A Poem”

  1. nrhatch Says:

    Lovely poem, Shannon. Thanks for sharing.

  2. faeriemagic Says:

    Thank you Nancy. I’m glad you liked it.

  3. Hi Shannon,

    I like the poem that you illustrated with my painting “The Birth of Adam”. However, my website clearly states that my work is copyrighted and cannot reproduced without receiving prior permission. Since you have not used it in an objectionable way, I am not asking that you remove it, but I would ask that you post a reciprocal link to my website: http://www.judithehernandez.com. If you’d rather not do that, then I’d like you to remove the image.

    In the future you may want to check with artists and obtain their permission before reproducing their work on your blog. Some artists are very protective of their images and could take legal action because you didn’t obtain permission to use their work. When an artist does give their permission, as a courtesy for the use of their work, it’s nice to post a link to their website so that people who visit your blog and have an interest in seeing more of the artist’s work can do that.

    Judithe

  4. faeriemagic Says:

    Hi Judithe, you are correct about this and I aplogize for not checking with you first. I have in the past checked with other artists but it has been a while since I posted art from someone else on my site. I appreciate you reminding me of this and am happy thay you are letting me keep it posted with the poem. The whole thing has a special meaning. I wrote the poem after doing reiki with one of my friends who is recovering from prostate cancer. He sent me your art piece as a depiction of how he was feeling after the session. I will go in later today and add a link to you site! Have a great day 🙂


Leave a Reply

