Creating Magic

May your day be sprinkled with pixie dust

We never know … April 19, 2011

Filed under: Faerie Dust & Whimsy — Faerie Magic @ 9:26 am

I checked in with the SDFDC, Sonoran Desert FAerie Dust Clan, last week ….. “Belle, how do we know if we make a difference in the world?”  She said, “Well, sometimes we don’t, Shannon, but that doesn’t mean we don’t do our best to be kind and loving.”  I pondered that a bit …. then …. the next morning … a gift.

I woke up and checked my email quickly.  There was a note from a man, lets call him John, on my facebook page who had sent a message.  Because we were not “friends”, he had to send a “private note” to me on my page.  The note was titled, “Poetry Book” and the message said, “Did you make this?”  Below the message was a photograph.

I almost gasped and choked.  Scout said, “Shannon … are you okay?”  I said, “Holy cow!”  They wanted to know what was the matter.  I said, “Do you guys see the label on the book?”  They all shook their little faerie heads up and down rapidly.  The label reads, “AP Poetry Book, The Class of 1995, Miss Sullivan/Mr. Heintz”.   “Well, Shannon, what does it mean?”  Gabby asked.

I said, “Do you guys remember how I told you a little while back that I graduated from the University of Arizona with a teaching degree in English?”   Button exclaimed, “Do you mean!”  I shook my head …. “Look at the label guys.   That is me, ‘Miss Sullivan’ … which means this is one of the students I had in class.”   Everyone skipped around the room giggling.

Belle chimed, “How old were you Shannon?”   I said, “I was 23 at the time.” …. (then I quickly replied that they were NOT to do the math in their heads to figure out that this was from 1995 which was 15 years ago which would make me somewhere around 115 years old now!) ….  everyone giggled.

“Let’s write John a note back and ask him about the book ….”    So we did.  I asked John if he had kept the book the whole time and he responded that it had been a favorite class of his and he held onto the book the whole time.  Belle asked me, “What was this book that you made with them in class?”   I explained to the SDFDC, Sonoran Desert FAerie Dust Clan, that I had broken the class of 20 Seniors into five groups of four students and they worked on a group poetry exercise and in the end each created individual poems.  Then they were afforded the opportunity to practice public speaking by reading their poems out loud in class.  As a graduation gift, I gathered all of their poems together from their class and the second AP Senior English class and created a book for each student.

“Do you remember who John was?”  Scout querried.   I thought long and hard and imagined the classroom in front of my eyes.  The seats, the rows, the students …. my computer brain generated a diagram of the class, and John’s face popped into my mind.  “I think I remeber,”  I said to Twig.   “Ask him, ask him,”  Twig blurted.  

   I messaged John with all the faeries eagerly watching over my shoulder.   “Are you the student who wrote the poem about the chocolate milk?”  I asked “John”.   We checked back in an hour later and the response was “Yes.”   Mystery solved!   “Wow!  how did you remember that after 15 years, Shannon”  Gabby wanted to know.   To tell the truth, I only know that the class along with that particular project created a good memory in my brain, and I am grateful.  “It is nice to remember the hopeful things,”  I said to the faerie group.  They all agreed.

   So … dear Readers of Wonder and Magic … what connections have you had in the past that come forward years later as a form of reward or beautiful memory?  Please feel free to share with us … we love to hear all about it!

****************************************************************************************************

(Written by:  Shannon Sullivan

  Photo courtesy:  “John”

   Thoughful commentary by:  SDFDC (Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan

   Thank you to:  Our Readers )

 

5 Responses to “We never know …”

  1. Paula Williams Says:

    Often I feel the world doesn’t know I even exist; it is only with hindsight that I realize I made an impression on someone. Shannon it sounds like you were a wonderful teacher and you blessed the students who were open to your teaching.

  2. faeriemagic Says:

    Thank you Paula 😉

  3. nrhatch Says:

    Very cool, Shannon! Especially that you remembered about the Chocolate Milk poem! 😀

  4. faeriemagic Says:

    Thanks Nancy 🙂 … I know … I have no idea how but the imagery he used in the poem was pretty memorable … amazing what the brain recalls

  5. I believe teachers have the opportunity to make a tremendous impact on generations of students. In fact, what happens between a teacher and a student can radically enhance a child’s life—or not. No one is more important than a good, caring teacher.


Leave a Reply

