Creating Magic

May your day be sprinkled with pixie dust

“Tears” by Shannon Sullivan March 22, 2011

Filed under: Faerie Dust & Whimsy,Poems — Faerie Magic @ 1:26 pm

   This poem is dedicated to one of my clients who just experienced the loss of her mother.   This is in honor of the courage it takes to express grief and let the tears flow to come out the other side to joy.

   Tears run down my cheek

   and travel in the deep crease

   of the wrinkles that live

   there now.

   Tears that carry the memory

   of us standing in the foyer

    hugging one another

(photo by: Shannon Sullivan)

    just two days before you left.

     Tears that carry the

     knowing in me that when

    you hugged me, you

    taught me love.

    Thank you for letting me

    love you back.

    Thank you for being

    my mom.

   Thank you for letting

   me cry.

    Thank you.

    I love you.

*************************************************************************************************

(photo by: Quynn Elizabeth)

(Written by:  Shannon Sullivan

 Photo by:  Shannon Sullivan (taken at Sabino Canyon)

  As always my loving inspiration is my spirit family, the SDFDC , Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan

   Thank you:  To Our Readers!

 

4 Responses to ““Tears” by Shannon Sullivan”

  1. nrhatch Says:

    Thanks, Shannon.

    Sorrow is the price we pay for joy.

  2. faeriemagic Says:

    That is true Nancy, they seem to go hand-in-hand …

  3. I lost my mother several years ago. I believe one never really gets over the loss of a mother. I know I haven’t. Your poem brought a lump to my chest. I still miss her.

  4. faeriemagic Says:

    Thank you for sharing Nancy. My own Mom is still here and I don’t know what I would do if she weren’t. So I am grateful to have her here as long as I can.


Leave a Reply

