Creating Magic

May your day be sprinkled with pixie dust

Nobody Puts Buddha in a Corner February 21, 2011

     At the clinic where my office is located, our owner has a Buddha statue that is also a small planter holding several small green plants in his hands.  He is place in the entry facing the door as a welcome to all the patients and clients who walk in.   Recently, there were some renovations occurring in the lobby and I walke by to notice that Buddha was missing.  I didn’t know where he had gone.

   “Scout”  I whispered …. “Yes, Shannon” ….”Can you go find Buddha?”   Our trusty leader of the SDFDC (Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan) has a sharp sense of direction.   Whenever Scout finds something I am searching for, he gives a quick whistle.   “Over here Shannon” he whistled and cried out.   I walked towards where I hear him whistle, saw the wisp of his wing peaking around a door and I walked into one of the other rooms in the clinic.  The closet was open and there propped in the corner was Buddha.   “Oh Buddha” I said …. So I picked him up and went to talk to the owner to find out where he would like to place Buddha until he could go back to his spot.

   One of my co-workers said, “Oops … was I not supposed to do that?”   I explained to her that any item that has Buddha or Jesus or other figures of worship you have to watch how you handle the sacred items out of respect.   She didn’t know this at the time so I just shared with her.  Then I said, “Hey, its like the movie Dirty Dancing …. ‘Nobody puts Baby in a corner’ … except its Buddha this time,”  we all giggled imaging Patrick Swayze dancing with Buddha instead of Jennifer Grey.

“Thanks Scout for finding Buddha for me.”  Scout just grinned and nodded his head.

Dear Readers, what are some sacred items you have that you like protected?

******************************************************************************************************

(Written by:  Shannon Sullivan

  Video from:  “Dirty Dancing” movie

  Thank you to:  Our own SDFDC for their efforts

    Appreciation and gratitude to:  Our awesome readers!

 

2 Responses to “Nobody Puts Buddha in a Corner”

  1. nrhatch Says:

    I don’t own any sacred items or icons. The closest thing I have to a “Buddha” is a hand carved magician . . . representing the magic of the Universe and the Spirit within.

  2. faeriemagic Says:

    Perfect nancy … that is just as sacred 🙂 thank you for sharing


Leave a Reply

