Creating Magic

May your day be sprinkled with pixie dust

No Pain, No Gain? February 10, 2011

Filed under: Aha! Moments,Faerie Dust & Whimsy,Mother Nature,Spirit Speaks,Storytime — Faerie Magic @ 1:08 pm

    Because many of my massage and bodywork clients are often “older” being that I have a practice amongst a retirement community in Green Valley, many are still of the “old” opinion or programming that there is no gain in creating body changes if there is no pain.

   Now … being a gymnast for thirteen years growing up and being amongst the trainers and athletes, this was also a program that I too grew up believing.  I went through many body changes after going through massage school that eventually allowed me to be able to shift this program of belief.

   Now through the awesome techniques of breathwork, craniosacral work and dialogue through imagery along

No Pain No Gain

with the energy modality of Reiki, I can incorporate these seemingly effortless practices into a massage that allow individuals to experience their bodies shifting and changing without the sensation of “pain”.   I sometimes do get frustrated having to explain this to people and then I have to stop and recognize where I, too, came from and it did not change over night.  It took years for me to be able to see the subtle yet beautiful shifts. 

   A client came to me yesterday.  I had only seen him once before for a one hour session.  As we chatted about what he would like for this particular session, he said, “Listen, I’m not some fragile person that’s gonna break under deep pressure.  You can work a lot harder.”   My first response, internally, was to see my defenses going up …. in fact, Kermit the Frog, who sits on my desk looked at me and said, “Now Shashi (my nickname), this client has no idea that there is another way.  You are just frustrated because you will have to explain it to him.”   Then Belle, who is always flitting around my office, Miss Faerie Dancer extraordinaire, landed on my shoulder and said, “It’s okay, Shannon, he is an ‘adult’. He has forgotten how to laugh.  See … look … don’t be angry with him.   Isn’t it sad?”   Okay, so my wall went back down thanks to Kermie and Belle.  

   “Paul, I want you to have the session that you want to pay for.  Do you want a relaxation massage that is general or would you like to work on something specific?”  He began to tell me about the pain in his hip.  I said, “Okay, when I work specific ‘pain’ the session looks less like a traditional massage and I follow the path that the body tells me to in order to unwind it.  So I jump from location to location but it is effective and addresses the ‘issue’ which may not be in the hip at all. OR I can do the traditional full body massage.  Because you are the one that is paying for the session, I am okay with you choosing either one.”   He, I could tell, was skeptical but agreed to do the less tradtional method of treatment. 

Or Peace

   At the end of the session, Paul was feeling ‘taller’ and more relaxed.  I gave him two exercises to do at home to continue the work we had done in the office.  Although Paul wasn’t completely changed in his belief “no pain, no gain” I was grateful that he allowed the possibility.  Belle said, “See Shannon … we know it is frustrating … people can be sooooo stuck … you can too … so be compassionate.”  Thank you Belle … I know, I know.

What attitudes, dear readers and fans of the SDFDC, have you shifted?

*******************************************************************************************************

(Written by:  Shannon Sullivan

Inspiration by:  Life Lessons

Assistance by:  SDFDC (Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan & the Muppets

  Thank you kindly to:  Our Readers 😉

 

4 Responses to “No Pain, No Gain?”

  1. nrhatch Says:

    Glad that you and Paul are BOTH working through your issues. 🙂

  2. faeriemagic Says:

    Me too Nancy 😉 Have a great day 😉

  3. Draqqi Says:

    Great post Shannon! My main attitude shift occurred when I realized that I had a choice how to respond to stimulus. You don’t have to get mad, it’s a CHOICE. You can decide whether to make any situation a positive experience, or a negative. And I like how you handled this situation! Way to stay open and compassionate 🙂

  4. faeriemagic Says:

    Thanks Miss Julia 🙂 I appreciate the feedback. Hope you have a very faerie weekend


Leave a Reply

