Creating Magic

May your day be sprinkled with pixie dust

Egregiously Awesome! December 30, 2010

     Today I had the most awesome visit by a creature so rare that I am in awe of my great good fortune.  I am always looking for the powerfully beautiful life in all my days and I could erroneously tell you that I had discovered this great visit all on my own.  I usually pride myself on being able to “see” beyond what is in front of me … I must say, however, that it was not I (eye) who saw the visitor who was in my room.  It was my client, Barb. 

Hooty the Sunflower Owl

     After Barb’s session with me, I returned to the room to make sure she was doing well and all of a sudden she bursts out, “Oh my goodness, you have been blessed by a visit from the Sunflower Owl.  He is so rarely seen, you must feel blessed.”  I looked at my desk and noticed that I had the faces of two sunflowers staring up at me. I had been looking at their faces all week.  I love bringing in fresh flowers to the clinic for all of us to enjoy.  Now, all of a sudden, I took note that yes, indeed, it was the appearance of an owl’s face peaking out from the sunflowers, like two large eyes blinking slowly filling the room with light.  “Holy cow!”  I exclaimed.  “You’re right.”  We both laughed happily.  He quickly informed us that his name was Hooty.  

   So I asked Hooty the rare Sunflower Owl if there were any lessons he had for us.  The word “egregious” popped into my head randomly, and I didn’t understand.  I emailed the word to my friend, Miss Elisabeth, and she informed me that the word meant bad or awful.  From there I decided that I would investigate this word and why Hooty could have possibly gifted such a word to me and our readers.  Upon closer investigation, I learned that the original use of the Latin word actually meant, “Standing above the flock, Distinguished and Exceptional.”  Somewhere around the 16th century, however, the word began to be used in connotaion with more “negative” events and its meaning turned into that of being awful.

    So Hooty’s lesson to us is that things aren’t always as they appear and that there are power in words.  Don’t take things at face value.  There is gold amongst all of the rubble.  So I would like to reclaim the “Egregious” awesomeness of this fabulous word.  Thanks Hooty!

*****************************************************************************************************************

(Written by:  Shannon Sullivan

  Hooty Photo by:  Shannon Sullivan

   Barn Owl Photo by:   David Norman at  http://www.davidnorman.org.uk/MRG/Barn%20Owls.htm 

    Adventures by:  Hooty, SDFDC – Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan & the Muppet Gang

    Thank you to:  Our Readers!






 

One Response to “Egregiously Awesome!”

  1. nrhatch Says:

    Love it!

    Embrace all with Joy . . . anything can be a gift of Gold in disguise.


Leave a Reply

