Creating Magic

May your day be sprinkled with pixie dust

Dear Santa December 8, 2010

“Dear Santa”

    So this is just a fun post for no other reason other than enjoyment and a bit of levity.  My friend Elisabeth and I were at the Park Mall in Tucson, AZ yesterday to do a “photo shoot” for ourselves.  We were creating a photo to put with our flyer featuring our upcoming Sabino Canyon Full Moon “Yuletide” Percussion Circle.  We wanted to do something that was indicative of this time of year with the malls being hectic and people feeling stressed and give people an alternative to this fast pace and come join us to slow down and reconnect a bit before entertaining families and friends. 

   For the photo shoot I had created a large wreath by purchasing an inexpensive hula-hoop and some garland that I wrapped around it.  Then I hung a small red sign that spelled “JOY” from the middle of the wreath.  Elisabeth and I sat in the middle of the wreath in front of a large shopping window and I set the timer on the camera to photograph us.  Well, this in and of itself is not the humorous part although there were quite a few people starring at us wondering what the heck we were doing.

   The silly part happened next.  We were on the outside of the mall and walked past one of the retail stores and the doors were open beckoning us in to join them.  I looked at the wall and there in front of us from floor to ceiling was a black-and-white photograph ad of a young man from the waist up with no shirt on, looking, how shall I say, innocent yet inviting.  Elisabeth and I giggled as we walked past and I said that we should take a photo of me standing in front of it with the wreath, and we would call the photo, “Dear Santa”.  We walked past and at first I wasn’t going to really do it and then I thought, “what the heck.”  So I told Elisabeth, “Let’s take the picture just for fun.”

   We walked into the store, my large wreath in hand, and I stood in front of the photograph of the cute young man, and I smiled and said, “Cheese.”  Before Elisabeth could take the photograph, one of the store clerks told us we were NOT allowed to take the photograph.  I said, “Are you serious?”  She smirked and said “Store policy.”  I shrugged, defeated … my plans gone awry.  And then I giggled and said out loud in a laughing voice, “Ahhhh, but then how will Santa know what I want for Christmas?”   Ta Da … the store clerk  rolled her eyes and said, “Okay … but just one.”   Yay!  So here is my one photo called “Dear Santa.”

"Dear Santa" by Shannon Sullivan

 

    SO FABULOUS FAERIE FRIENDS ….. WHAT ARE YOU ASKING SANTA FOR THIS YEAR?

***************************************************************************************************************

(Written by:  Shannon Sullivan

  Photo by:  Shannon Sullivan (Elisabeth Black)

   Adventures by:  SDFDC – Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan

   Thank you to:  Our Readers)

 

4 Responses to “Dear Santa”

  1. nrhatch Says:

    Santa is going to take one look at the photo and stamp “Naughty” on your request.

    Expect coal in your stocking this year. 😉

    I’m going to ask Santa for Inner Peace and Joie de Vivre (even when faced with disapproving store clerks who chastise shoppers for expanding their Christmas lists).

  2. faeriemagic Says:

    That’s funny Nancy… I am trying something new for myself … so this will be my first “Naughty” Christmas in 38 years … thats okay, Spirit knows I was teasin’ 😉

    Mostly I wish for Inner Peace …. oh and a date with a nice man … its been two years since my divorce 😉

  3. nrhatch Says:

    A date with a decent guy would top my list too . . . except that my husband (a/k/a my BFF) might get jealous. LOL

    Happiness is “dating” your best friend. Here’s hoping you find your BFF this Christmas.

  4. faeriemagic Says:

    Ahhhhhh … Nancy … thank you! I appreciate the Christmas wishes … Creating a sweet man who is both my hubby and my BFF is a magically, spectacular idea. I love it 😉


Leave a Reply

