Creating Magic

May your day be sprinkled with pixie dust

Persistance Pays Off December 7, 2010

Filed under: Faerie Dust & Whimsy,HOPE,Mother Nature,Spirit Speaks — Faerie Magic @ 3:05 pm

   I have a great love for hummingbirds and have had them zooming and zipping in and out of my life for many years now.  I love when we connect and enjoy their company.  They are feisty and quick.  I most connect them to my late Grandma Paula whome we nicknamed “The Hummingbird” because she would zoom in for a quick hello and be off again giving sweetness to many others throughout the day.

   Our business location recently moved in Green Valley, and we have many trees around us.  There is a mesquite tree to the north of the building.  Eight months ago I started putting a hummingbird feeder out in hopes of attracting some of the locals around this area.  I switched the location of the feeder several times but to no avail.  So I chose one location and stuck to it.  I continued filling and re-filling the feeder cleaning it out and replacing the sugar water as needed.

   FINALLY … this past Saturday I finished working with a client and decided to have a bite of food under the mesquite when I saw not one but TWO hummingbirds sitting in the tree with the feeder. HOORAY!  We hung out for about half-an-hour just gabbin’.  The two hummingbirds quibbled a bit about who was going to eat but in the end as you will see in the photos, they were able to sit down for a meal together.  I am so glad my persistence to fill the feeders paid off.

*******************************************************************************************************

(Wrtitten by:  Shannon Sullivan

  Photos by:  Shannon Sullivan

   Adventures by:  SDFDC – Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan

   Thank you to:  Our Readers

 

4 Responses to “Persistance Pays Off”

  1. nrhatch Says:

    I love hummingbirds. In our last home, they would hover over my right shoulder as I read on the deck . . . reading along with me. 🙂

    Glad your persistence paid off

  2. faeriemagic Says:

    Me too! They are awesome friends to have around.

  3. I like to observe hummingbirds. However, they are feisty little birds. They love to visit my deck flowers, but if I interrupt their visit, they will buzz me.

  4. faeriemagic Says:

    Well this pair in the photo had an interesting encounter as I watched them … they were battling over the feeder at first and one of them actually pinned the other on the ground and stood on top of him … holy cow ….


Leave a Reply

