Creating Magic

May your day be sprinkled with pixie dust

Billy “F***ing” Idol? November 16, 2010

Filed under: Cosmic Odyssey,Faerie Dust & Whimsy,Spirit Speaks,Storytime — Faerie Magic @ 12:53 pm

What part do you want to play today?

One of my clients walked into the clinic today for a massage session.  Dave is 80 years of age but young at heart.  He profusely apologized that he had not gotten the opportunity to shave his face befor the session.  He said, “I feel grungy.”  At that point I heard Kya, one of the blessed members of the Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan, whisper to me (Dave couldn’t see her 😉 …), “Tell him to embrace this grunginess instead of apologizing.”  I shook my head in agreement.

“Hey Dave,” I said … “Let’s try something different.  If you were somebody grungy that you admired who might it be?”  He instantly said, “Clint Eastwood from ‘Fistful of Dollars.'”  In that moment Kya, embracing her male side, stood up and walked across the floor wearing a hat, coat and totting cigar half-chewed in her mouth.  So I told Dave, “Let’s practice.  So we went into the lobby and Dave had a growl on his face to go with his grungy look and pushed both doors open forcefully.”   I clapped (along with the other faerie folk) “That’s it Dave!  Don’t apologize, embrace your grunginess!”

Which then lead into another story on the topic …. Lillith of Yellow-fare whispered, “Tell Dave the Billy Idol story.”  … “Okay, Okay … ” I said … my faerie dust clan are rather pushy sometimes!  “Dave, did I tell you how I embraced the character of Billy Idol one day?”  He shook his head no and said, “Please, do tell.”  Well … it’s like this … “The FD clan and I went to Yuma a month ago to visit our honorary faerie dust member, who happens to be my six-year-old nephew, the infamous “CJ Dragonfly Rider” (https://faeriemagic.wordpress.com/2010/07/21/martinez-lake-yuma-faerie-dust-the-nephews/).   One day during our visit we had been outdoors playing in the wind. The wind told us, ‘have fun play acting’, so I took out my camera and CJ Dragonfly Rider and myself began creating faces for film.  I, myself, decided to embrace the emotion of Billy Idol, rockstar extradordinare, and CJ told me he wanted to embrace his ‘silly’ self (see photo to the right).”

I  explained to my client, Dave, how it is traditional Shamanic practice and even now-so in the art of Urban Shamanism to embrace different characteristics for different times in your life that are appropriate.  However, one cannot embrace these different characteristics without practicing them.

So ………  Readers and Friends of Faerie ….

What character or trait would you like to embrace today?

 

*****************************************************************************************************

(Written words by:  Shannon Sullivan

  Adventures by:  SDFDC – Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan

   Thank you to:   Our readers!  YOU ROCK!

 

 

4 Responses to “Billy “F***ing” Idol?”

  1. nrhatch Says:

    What a fun post! And the graphics are perfect . . .

    Hmm . . . since my energy level is flagging, I’d like to embrace a less-fatigued version of my present self. {{yawn}}

  2. faeriemagic Says:

    I know, Nancy, you can embrace a lioness lounging lazily in the luminous sunlight.

  3. nrhatch Says:

    Sounds lovely . . . as long as I don’t have to chase and kill zebras. 🙂

  4. faeriemagic Says:

    Nope … its your “imaginary” kingdom so if you don’t want that then that is just fine (especially with the zebras).


Leave a Reply

