Creating Magic

May your day be sprinkled with pixie dust

What once was trash! November 3, 2010

Filed under: Aha! Moments,Faerie Dust & Whimsy,HOPE,Spirit Speaks — Faerie Magic @ 9:18 am

“What Once Was Trash”

What once was trash, now is treasure I find.  Upon waking this morning, I felt quite sleepy and disconcerted about the type of day I might have.  I asked the faeries for their guidance and none came.  Hmmm… where could they be? So I commuted to work, communing with the hum of the other cars around me, and I woke up with the sun on my drive into Green Valley.

Waiting for me was an emailed message from my friend, Elisabeth, with a link to my astrological forecast for the week.  It read:   “The first time I ever planted a garden was last summer. It wasn’t easy. The soil in my backyard was hard clay that I could barely penetrate with a shovel. Luckily, a helpful clerk at the garden store revealed a solution: gypsum. All I had to do was pour the white powder on my intransigent dirt and wet it down for a few days. The stuff performed as advertised on the package: It “worked like millions of tiny hoes,” loosening the heavy clay. A week later I was able to begin planting. In the coming days, Leo, I think you could benefit from the metaphorical equivalent of a million tiny hoes. You’ve got to break down a hard surface to create a soft bed for your seeds. ”  (Find this Rob Brezsny’s Free Will Astrology under ‘Leo’ www.freewillastrology.com).

I went to check on the SDFDC (Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan) and there they were busy digging away at the landscape drilling tiny hole to soften the ground around me.  “Oh this is where you are?”  I said.  “Sorry,” Belle said “we thought we left you a note telling you we’d be back after dusk.  Lots of groundwork to do.”  I smiled.

Lucky Me (image from: http://www.kraftgirlkits.com)

At that moment I went into my office and was preparing for the day.  I stopped by the trash and realized that yesterday in the parking lot, I had found, what seemed to me at the time, a piece of old, blue crepe paper that looked like trash laying on the ground.  There it was – still in my garbage can.  Except this time it didn’t look like garbage to me at all. 

I am going to be dancing with the Brazilian Percussion and Dance group on Sunday November 7th in Tucson AZ in the All Souls Procession Parade.  The performance group is called BATUCAXE (www.batucaxe.org)  ,and they do wonderful events around the community.  The All Souls Procession will be honoring the memory of loved ones and our ancestors.  Last night at practice the band leader let us know that the theme color for the parade this year is BLUE.  We can decorate ourselves however we choose to celebrate this color.  A ha!  This blue piece of crepe paper , which yesterday was trash, now was a beautiful treasure waiting to be turned into something magical to go with my outfit for Sunday.

Hooray!  The faeries hard work to soften my soil and create space for new things worked … I can’t wait to see what the crepe paper wants to become!  (For more information and history about the parade please visit:  www.allsoulsprocession.org)

SO THE QUESTION FOR YOU DEAR READERS IS THIS:

WHAT WAS ONCE TRASH TO YOU THAT YOU CAN NOW TRANSFORM INTO A TREASURE?

***********************************************************************************************

The Ringmaster (Photo by: Quynn Elizabeth)

(Written words by:  Shannon Sullivan

  Image from: www.kraftgirlkits.com

  Astrology from:  www.freewillastrology.com

  Photo by:  Quynn Elizabeth www.earthwebmedia.tv

  Adventures by:  SDFDC – Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan

  Thank you to:  Our Readers 😉

 Have a rockin’ awesome day!

 

2 Responses to “What once was trash!”

  1. nrhatch Says:

    That’s trashy! http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/06/06/thats-trashy/

    I love, love, love repurposing trash!

    Enjoy the parade!

  2. faeriemagic Says:

    I know! So Cool … I am quickly learning how to do this more often. The parade should be awesome!


Leave a Reply

