Creating Magic

May your day be sprinkled with pixie dust

Meet Morla! The Ancient One …. July 26, 2010

Filed under: Faerie Dust & Whimsy,Mother Nature,Poems,Spirit Speaks,Storytime — Faerie Magic @ 5:24 pm

   Upon my faerie dust travels, I was passing by Picacho Peak and found that great amounts of good energy were coming from the mountain.  I decided to go into the state park and find out what was transpiring and had a nice surprise.  I was given the great opportunity to meet Morla, the Ancient One, of the mountain who protects this area.  She kindly obliged me to take her photograph.  As a way of thanking her, I wrote this following poem.  I hope you enjoy meeting Morla as much as I did, and if you are ever headed towards Phoenix, wave hello to her and send her hugs!

                                                                                                                    “Oh Ancient One”

Morla through the Looking Glass

The sacred mountain

holds this face,       

her name is Morla,

birthed of an ancient race.

Sometimes she cares, sometimes

she doesn’t, but I say

 “Hello” in case she

stirs this very moment.

On her back the mountain

sits and the green

 of saguaro and cacti

sparkle shine and glitter

across the top of it.

So old she is, Morla cannot                                           

The Portrait of Morla as the Ancient One

recall her age of late,

not that it matters to her

much at all at any rate.

“I’m just glad you came to

play,” she says to me as I beat away

on the drum in my hand,

drumming all day.

One request I ask of

her,

just one,

that’s it.

Among the Peaks of Picacho

Morla sighs, “What is it then,

This favor you ask?”

I smile, “Will you sit

For your portrait?” –

just to sit as she is.

Morla agrees although

no smile does stir

from her lips

not even a quiver

transpires around

her nose as the shutter

clicks for the photographer.

The wind whips by me laughing

heartily and

pulls at my hair, just

teasing me.

I thank Morla for her       

Morla's Fine Friend the Lively Lizard

patience and grace,

and she laughs loudly

then sneezes in my face.

“Excuse me child, but are

you quite through?”

I respond, “Yes, but why?”

She says, “Because I’m

allergic to you.”

Friends of the Ancient One

I laugh out loud and

stop drumming for now,

knowing I have no

kleenex anywhere

large enough to help

her anyhow.

“Good-bye Ancient friend,

see you again soon.”

“Good-bye child, take

care won’t you.”

The Cave's Entrance

Morla sits watching the

land around her

shift and change

not caring either way

what stays and remains

at the end of the day.

I hop in my car &

speed quickly away,

and Morla stays with me

today and all days.

 ***************************************************************************************************************

 

Thank you for sharing this journey with me.   Morla is verrily happy that you have spent time with her as well.  We both hope for your days to be filled with lots of love.

 

Morla & Me

(Poem by:  Shannon Sullivan
 
 Pictures by:  Shannon Sullivan
 Permission of story by:  Morla, Ancient One
 Imagination by:  S.D.F.D.C. –
                                      Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan
 Thanks to:  all of our readers)
 

5 Responses to “Meet Morla! The Ancient One ….”

  1. I don’t know how many times I’ve driven by Picacho and wondered what was there. One day I must stop and say hello to Morla.

    Thanks Shannon!

    Sagi

  2. faeriemagic Says:

    Hi Sagi … you are welcome. I had gone up there to do some drumming and the first trailhead is called “The Children’s Cave” trail and thought that would be perfect. So I did the short half-mile hike and began to drum facing out towards the freeway. That is when I heard the mountain say, “Turn around and drum for me too.” So when I turned to face the mountain, there she was peaking out. Glad she will have many waves hello now 😉

  3. Reading your beautiful word picture I felt like I was standing there with you in front of Morla. Lovely poem.

  4. Hi Nancy,
    Thank you for the feedback. I like to create the story of what I experience when I am with the different elements of nature to give readers a “feeling” of the place (atleast the experience I, myself, am having at this place). I am glad you enjoyed it and know Morla is glad (or not … ) that you met her as well.

    Have an awesome day!


Leave a Reply

