Creating Magic

May your day be sprinkled with pixie dust

“A Gneiss (Nice) Seat to Sit On” May 6, 2010

Filed under: A Serious Sense of Humor,Aha! Moments,Spirit Speaks — Faerie Magic @ 4:10 pm

I went to the park today and they had a stone bench made from a large piece of black and white granite that is 25 million years old.

A Gneiss Seat

  It is called Gneiss (pronounced ‘nice’).   As I sat on the stone to see what 25 million years feels like, it was great to know the stone, itself, has a sense of humor after all this time.   He said, “Don’t take me for granite, get it” (ha, ha … he chuckled).  I laughed outloud not expecting this response.  I had been waiting for some infinite words of wisdom from this aged sage of rock.  I said, “I come to you for wisdom and you give me a joke instead?”  He said, “That’s right, kid.  Without a sense of humor, it is hard to get by.  Keep laughing.”  Then he said, “But really it is about gratitude as well.  Don’t take me for granite is my way of saying I appreciate being taken care of and remembered for all the support I have provided these many years.” 

"A Gneiss Bench to Sit On"

You got it Mr. Gneiss! 😉

We often find meaning in the simple things around us.  When we stop to listen to the world around us, it is usually the messages that are the most simple that hold the most truth to them. 

Keep laughing!!!!!!

 

****************************************************************************************************************

(Written words by:  Shannon Sullivan

  Words of Wisdom by:  Mr. Gneiss

   Photos by:  Shannon Sullivan

   Guides:  S.D.F.D.C. – Sonoran Desert Faerie Dust Clan Adventures)

 

Leave a Reply

